Alive! It’s ALIVE!

So, after cleaning house all day, I decided to run outside to see what I could put into a vase for my dining room table.  It’s rainy today, and yet warm… but I haven’t been outside a lot, just a walk this morning.  So, I walk outside and start browsing my yard.  Not a lot to choose from- besides daffodils (which are gorgeous and full) and while browsing I’m deciding what we COULD eventually do to our yard- when suddenly, walking past my lilac bush that I’d begun to think of as a hopeless venture- I see GREEN.

Here’s the back story.  I purchased a lilac bush from HD.  Lilacs are my #1 favorite flower.  Or #2, after gardenias.  They’re pretty closely tied.  Anyway, I bought the bush, and henceforth forgot to plant it.  For at least 3 months.  Yes, I am good at forgetting to do things.  So, the bush stayed in a little pot for 3 months, outside.  After I finally realized I needed to plant it ASAP, and did… it seemed as though I had waited too long.  It stayed brown, through all the watering and additional little love we tried to give it (composted soil, miracle gro etc).  I hadn’t the heart to remove it yet, hoping and praying that I would eventually have a lilac bush in my backyard.

My hopes and prayers paid off, because today, there were little green buds all over the bush!

Hooray!!

This entry was published on March 29, 2010 at 9:54 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

