Painting my Bathroom Vanity. Making my life a little prettier.

I decided that until we can completely renovate the bathroom, I will have to make do with what we have.  Unfortunately that consists of a really ugly vanity, paneling on the walls, and pink and white tiles… and a gold shower door.

I previously painted the paneling white, added some decorative touches… and finally decided to paint the vanity. Here’s the ugly truth:

Repainting the vanity was my first “furniture” update.  I have plenty of ideas of other items yawning their life away and need some sprucing up.  Why not try it on something that isn’t staying for more than 4 years (I pray)
So, the first thing I did was remove the knobs and handles since the wood had finger grooves cut into them.  We didn’t use the knobs.  Then I decided to remove the extra panel in the middle to give me a more uniform vanity.

Then I added some wood filler to disguise the mess I made, waited a couple of hours, sanded them down  then applied a layer of primer.  Remember, I sanded the vanity first all over to assure the paint would stay. (It was a mess in there!)







After primer?  Two coats of the beautiful green I chose.
What do you think?

AFTER:

This entry was published on September 2, 2009 at 7:46 pm and is filed under House Progress. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Painting my Bathroom Vanity. Making my life a little prettier.

  1. stella g. on said:

    it looks SO much better already! this was a great practice project. HGTV would be proud!

  2. LoveLladro on said:

    That looks 10 times better! I am very impressed!

  3. Kasey at Thrifty Little Blog on said:

    I'm about to take on this project myself! Yours made a big impact. Great job :).

Leave a Reply

